I’m not so fast at this knitting stuff, but I have accomplished a few more items since I completed the Simple Fair Isle Hat…

First is the hat that I made for my niece Maddie…she’s adorable, and she got a new winter coat, so she needed a new hat to go with it…

cimg1593

For the few seconds that she actually kept it on her head, she looked so dang purdy!! I used bits and pieces of different hat patterns to come up with this hat pattern, and I didn’t write it down…dang. I’m sure that my sister will force the cutie pie to wear her hat this winter…

Then I wanted to try “real” fair isle knitting, but not something really complicated, so I found a pattern for a ski band in Paton’s Big Chill pattern booklet. I’m thinking this should be for me when I go outdoors and snow blow the driveway!!

cimg1609

A closeup of the stitches…

cimg1610

I started a new project yesterday. I’m really into making hats because they don’t take like months to finish, and they are useful now that winter is approaching. I bought a book off of Amazon called Hats On! by Charlene Schurch. There are some really beautiful hats in this book! The one I’ve choosen to knit is the Danish Earflap Hat. I bought a skein of Nature Spun in Plumberry and instead of using 2 or three different yarn colors, I bought a skein of Noro Silk Garden 258 to do the fair isle portion of the pattern. I think it’s going to look absolutely fab! I’ve not decided if I’m going to do the earflaps yet, I may not…I have one more inch to knit before I make up my mind on that one…I’ll post pictures of the hat when I complete it!

Oh, and I’ve got to say…I’ve been using Addi Turbo circular needles to knit with…I think they make me a much better knitter, and I can knit so much faster than with other needles…I am so glad that I can afford them…

