I saw this Baby Babette Blanket on Ravelry made by GeneticCrafter and just had to make one for that future Grandchild I will have someday.

Made by GeneticCrafter (Ravelry)

Anywho, it’s made with Caron Simply Soft Brites, and neither my local A.C. Moore, nor Michael’s carry this yarn, so I had to go to <horror> WalMart in order to get the yarn without having to order it online and pay shipping charges which almost indoubtedly would be much more expensive since we don’t pay taxes on yarn here in New York.

So I went to WalMart to pick up the yarn, even though I have not been in this store in years, and it’s not because I don’t like a bargin, it’s just that when school is in session, the college kids take over the place, and it’s a super store, which means one can spend a gazillion $$ in one place, and truthfully I like to spread the wealth when I’m out and about spending my money.

And if I were to be honest, I am a yarn snob. Sorta anyway…I like soft yarn. I love to pet it, and I like the way softer yarns feel when I’m working on a project. So imagine my surprise when I started working with this inexpensive yarn ($2 per 6 oz. skein). It’s incredibly soft, and it works up very nicely. Below is a picture of the few squares that I have completed thus far.

My thanks to GeneticCrafter…she’s inspired me to make this lovely blanket that I’m sure will make me a favorite Nana to my future grandchild. 

